A Beginners Guide to the 7 Chakras

A Beginners Guide to the 7 Chakras

Rooted in Hinduism, Chakras are considered the powerhouse energies located in different parts of our bodies hence the original meaning of “wheel of spinning energy.” From the crown of our head to the base of our spine, the seven main Chakras signify different aspects of mental, spiritual, and physical health that are all interconnected.

There’s a multitude of aspects when it comes to the seven chakras, so here’s a brief beginner’s guide to getting to know them before digging deeper into your spiritual journey!

The 7 Chakras for Beginners

1. Root Chakra / Mooladhaara

Located at the base of your spine or perineum, your root Chakra is considered the closest to Earth. Your root Chakra is associated with your “grounding” with the Earth and physical survival (fight or flight responses). This also influences your physical identity, stability, and ambition. When your root Chakra is out of balance you can experience physical fatigue, insomnia, depression, immunity, and lower back pain.

2. Sacral Chakra / Swadhistana

Your sacral Chakra is located at the lower abdomen, below the navel, and associates with your kidneys, bladder, reproductive organs/glands, and circulatory system. The sacral Chakra is associated with our desires, social interaction, pleasure and creativity, sexuality, and our well-being.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra / Manipura

Our solar plexus Chakra is positioned in our upper abdomen or the stomach. The solar plexus influences our self-confidence and control, emotions, and humor. Common imbalances in this Chakra can be digestive problems, anger and frustration, lack of direction, and even a sense of victimization.

4. The Heart Chakra / Anahata

The heart Chakra is located in its name, the heart. This is the element for love, inner peace and harmony, trust, and compassion. Because this Chakra affects the heart, lungs, arms, hands, and the thymus and lymph glands, blockage of this Chakra can cause immune system issues and can affect our emotions associated with compassion.

5. The Throat Chakra / Vishudhi

Located between the head and heart, our throat Chakra is linked to how we communicate, and express ourselves (creativity), healing, and judgment. You’ll notice a blockage in this Chakra when you hit creative blocks when you’re being dishonest or overall communication with others around you.

6. The Third Eye Chakra / Aagnaachakra

Between our eyebrows is where our third-eye Chakra is situated. This Chakra signifies our spiritual nature with our life in regards to our perception, inner vision, and wisdom. When our third eye is blocked we can experience an imbalance of sleep, learning or concentrating, headaches, and impaired judgment. To heal this Chakra, consider meditation and solitude.

7. The Crown / Sahasrara

Established at the top of our head, our crown Chakra is linked to our spirituality and faith. This also includes our ability to understand, accept, and bliss. This Chakra is also known as our “divine purpose and personal destiny.” An emotional imbalance and problems with our psychological health can be affected when this Chakra is congested.

In conclusion, learning about the 7 Chakras is an essential part of understanding your own wellbeing. Each Chakra has its own unique qualities and focusing on balancing each one can create a positive impact in your life.

Taking the time to learn how to activate and open these energy centers, can lead to better physical, mental, and emotional health. When you take the time to understand your Chakras and practice energy healing, it’s important that you trust your intuition.